Old Oracle Certifications

OCJP 6 Certification

The OCJP 6 (or SCJP 6) is an old Oracle Java Certification, which doesn't exist anymore. It is an internationally recognized Java Exam. Oracle added the Java SE 8 Programmer II and the last one Java SE 11 Programmer II exam certifications instead. But these exams require an engineer to have Associate Certification.

OCAJP 7 Certification

Starting from Java 7, the OCJP exam became the OCPJP. And to have the possibility to take it, you should first pass the OCAJP exam. OCAJP 8 is the last version of this exam. The OCAJP 7 exam (1Z0-803) verifies the basic knowledge of Java language: handling exceptions, working with Java data types, flow controls, principles of the OOP and so on. 

Recommended books are:

  1. OCA/OCP Java SE 7 Programmer I & II Study Guide By Kathy Sierra and Bert Bates.
  2. OCA Java SE 7 Programmer I Certification Guide: Prepare for the 1ZO-803 exam by Mala Gupta.
  3. Java Practice Questions: Oracle Certified Associate, Java SE 7 Programmer by Esteban Herrera.

OCPJP 7 Certification

The OCPJP 7 (1Z0-804) certification exam verifies the advanced knowledge of the Java language. To have the possibility to take the exam, you should already have Associate Certification OCAJP 7. Sometimes this exam is also called OCJP 7 exam because it is the updated version of OCJP 6.